Illinois Honored with 2019 StateScoop 50 Awards, State recognized nationally for progress with innovation and technology


This post has been read 160 times!

Springfield, IL – The Illinois Department of Innovation & Technology (DoIT) was honored in three categories when the 2019 StateScoop 50 Awards were announced during the National Association of State Chief Information Officers (NASCIO) midyear conference in National Harbor, Maryland.
The StateScoop 50 Awards is in its sixth year of recognizing the projects and people driving state government technology and innovation. States were invited to enter submissions in six categories, finalists were then selected and became available for open voting, where more than 2 million votes across the nation determined the winners.
Ron Guerrier, Illinois CIO and Secretary of Innovation and Technology commented, “It’s an honor to see Illinois being recognized nationally for the efforts to transform IT. The excellent work being done at the State of Illinois is resulting in our ability to better serve the residents of Illinois. Congratulations to the StateScoop 50 winners and our entire Illinois DoIT team.”
The winning nominations from Illinois include the State of Illinois’ Unified Communications and Collaboration project for State IT Innovation of the Year, Debbie Price, DoIT CIO serving the Illinois Department of Revenue for State Leadership of the Year and Beth Pruitt, DoIT Security Resiliency/Recovery Manager for State Up & Comer of the Year.
“Projects such as the Unified Communications and Collaboration initiative demonstrate how our state can realize increased productivity and cost savings through modernization,” commented Chief Technology Officer Lori Sorenson. “I’m proud of the team who worked on an accelerated timeline to replace outdated technology and make this migration possible for our state agencies.”
More information on the StateScoop 50 Award background, categories and nominees can be found at